Experience women's suffrage through music... 

PURCHASE tickets


A concert of dynamic and diverse new works by women from New Zealand and Australia, celebrating 125 years of women's suffrage in New Zealand. Featuring works by Jasmine Lovell-Smith, Sarah Ballard, Alison Isadora, Antonia Barnett-McIntosh and Lisa Illean. Stroma collaborates with leading jazz octet, The Jac, soprano Barbara Paterson, and a trio of musicians playing traditional Indian instruments. 

FEATURING: Hamish McKeich (conductor); Barbara Paterson (soprano); and The Jac (jazz octet)


  • Eve de Castro-Robinson - Quiet at her window for soprano and ensemble

  • Lisa Illean - Cantor for soprano and ensemble

  • Alison Isadora - Stemmen

  • Sarah Ballard - Paramatma for Indian musicians and ensemble

  • Jasmine Lovell-Smith - New work for jazz octet and ensemble

  • Antonia Barnett-Mcintosh - New work

Performance: Thursday 25 October, 7.30pm

Prices*: Adult $30.00; Student (with ID) $20.00. Tickets are available through the Hannah Playhouse. Seating is general admittance. See Ticketing T&Cs for the Hannah's policies on phones, photos and large items. *Service fees may apply. 

Performance length: approx. 1 hour and 30 mins (incl. interval). Latecomers will be seated when appropriate.


Finding the Hannah - Accessibility at the Hannah - Hannah's policies on phones, photos and large items


Stroma is an artistic team combining musicians at the highest standards of excellence in New Zealand. It is committed to engaging audiences with the music of living composers. At the core of this team lies the creative brilliance of composer Michael Norris and conductor Hamish McKeich, whose leadership during the past 15 years has produced innovative programmes unique to New Zealand and introduced audiences to new ideas from the global musical community.

Since its inception in 2000, Stroma has not only commissioned and premiered more than 50 new works, but has also given repeat performances to more than 40 existing NZ works.